APRSAF-25 Menu



November 6-9, 2018

Singapore Singapore

Meeting Details

Group Photo



November 6-9, 2018


Sheraton Towers Singapore
39 Scotts Road, Singapore, 228230, Singapore


Innovative Space Technology for Evolving Needs


The 25th session of the Asia-Pacific Regional Space Agency Forum (APRSAF-25) is co-organized by the following organizations:

Singapore: Singapore Space and Technology Association (SSTA)
Japan: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan (MEXT)
Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)

APRSAF-25 is also supported by the following organizations:

Singapore: Singapore Tourism Board
National Youth Council
Japan: National Space Policy Secretariat, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan (MOFA)
Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC)
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MAFF)
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI)
Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT)
Ministry of the Environment (MOE)
Japan Meteorological Agency (JMA)
Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)

Overall Schedule of the APRSAF-25

Plenary and Working Groups

Dates Event Venue
6-9 November 2018 APRSAF-25
- 6-7 November
   Working Group Sessions
- 8-9 November
   Plenary Session
Sheraton Towers Singapore

APRSAF Activities & APRSAF Related Projects

Dates Event Venue
2-4 November 2018 Water Rocket Event 2 Nov 2018: Bunc Hostel
3 Nov 2018: Temasek Junior College (TJC)
4 Nov 2018: Bedok South Secondary School (BSSS)
3-5 November 2018 The 5th Asia-Pacific Space Generation Workshop (APSGW 2018) Boeing Flight Services, Changi - Singapore
5 November 2018 SAFE Workshop Nanyang Technological University
6 November 2018 Kibo-ABC Workshop Sheraton Towers Singapore
Academic Space Policy Workshop
6-9 November 2018 Poster Contest
8 November 2018 25th Anniversary Reception

Plenary Session

The Plenary Session of the APRSAF-25 will be held from 8 to 9 November 2018.

The General Co-Chairs are:

Mr. Kong Hwee Tan
  Executive Director, Transport Engineering,
  Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB)
Ms. Naoko Okamura
  Deputy Director General, Research and Development Bureau,
  Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT),

Working Groups

Prior to the Plenary Session, the following working group sessions will take place in parallel from 6 to 7 November 2018. The concept notes for four working groups and initiatives are on:
APRSAF-25 Working Groups

Participants who wish to give a presentation are requested to send abstracts (approximately 400 words in length) to the APRSAF Secretariat when registering.
APRSAF-25 Registration

The Working Group Co-Chairs are listed below:

Space Applications Working Group (SAWG):
Mr. Leong Keong Kwoh Director, the Centre for Remote Imaging, Sensing and Processing (CRISP)
Mr. Naoto Matsuura Senior Chief Officer of Satellite Applications, JAXA
Space Technology Working Group (STWG):
Prof. Kay Soon Low Professor, National University of Singapore /
Director, Satellite Technology and Research Centre (STAR)
Mr. Ryoichi Imai Vice President / Director General of Research and Development Directorate, JAXA
Space Environment Utilization Working Group (SEUWG):
Mr. Cheng Hai Tan Professional Member, Singapore Space and Technology Association (SSTA)
Mr. Fumiaki Tanigaki Associate Senior Engineer, Japanese Experiment Module (JEM) Utilization Center, Human Spaceflight Technology Directorate, JAXA
Space Education Working Group (SEWG):
Dr. Rogel Mari Sese Program Leader, National Space Development Program
Dr. Nozomu Sakuraba Director, Space Education Office (Space Education Center), JAXA