Mr. Umamaheswaran R.

UNCOPUOS LTS2.0 Working Group / Science Secretary of ISRO

Shri Umamaheswaran is presently Distinguished Scientist and the Scientific Secretary of ISRO.  In his current capacity, he is responsible for the overall Policy, Planning and Programs of ISRO.  He is also leading the programme office of Technology Development and Innovation of ISRO HQ. Shri Umamaheswaran is with Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) for over a period of nearly 34 years.

He has worked in Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre of ISRO for 32 years in various capacities including the Project Director of GSLV and Deputy Director of VSSC. He has played significant role in drafting the sectoral reforms in Space towards Atmanirbhar Bharath (Self reliant) vision and also in drafting the Space Activities Bill.

He was the Chair of the High Level Interim Committee in lieu of IN-SPACe functioned in ISRO/DOS to implement the space sector reforms announced by Government of India to enhance participation of private sector in space activities.

He has been elected as the Chair of Working Group on Long Term Sustainability of Space Activities in UNCOPUOS Scientific and Technical Subcommittee. As LTS chair, he is working with UN member countries for bringing out international guidelines for the long-term sustainability of outer space activities.

He represented India in UNCOPUOS meeting in June 2019 and led the ISRO delegation in APRSAF 2020.  He has immensely contributed to ISRO’s international cooperation by serving as the co-chair of Joint Working Groups with many space agencies ROSCOSMOS, JAXA; ESA; NSSA (Bahrain); CRTS & CRERS (Morocco); ASAL (Algeria); CONAE (Argentina); MDAI (Kazakhstan); EgSA (Egypt). He has been part of Indian delegation to many International Astronautical Congresses. He is also currently member of Member of Board of Trustees of International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) and member of IN-SPACe Board.